Carmignac Photojournalism Award pentru fotoreporterii interesati de padurile Amazonului

The 2018 edition of the Carmignac Photojournalism Award aims to support an investigative photography project that will highlight the upheavals to the Amazon rainforest and encourage reflection of the consequences of massive deforestation.

Carmignac Photojournalism Award amazon forest
Carmignac Photojournalism Award

The Amazon is a vast region covering the territory of nine nations: Brazil, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana. The region has a surface area of 5,500,000 km² and is crossed by the Amazon river, the second longest river in the world and the largest by discharge volume of water. The Amazon alone accounts for half of the remaining tropical forests on the planet. It is home to 70% of the world’s biodiversity and to one in ten of the world’s species.

Since 1999 at least 2,200 new species have been discovered in the Amazon biome, but with 17% of the Amazon’s surface area already destroyed, the rainforest is increasingly vulnerable. Responsibility for the degradation and destruction of this fragile natural environment lies with climate change, but also human activity.

Selected by an international jury, the laureate receives an endowment of 50,000 euros, enabling them to carry out an in-depth reportage on the ground, with the logistical support of Fondation Carmignac .

Entry requirements:

A Project description with up to 1500 characters
A Biography and CV
A portfolio with up to 15 images
A story (linked or not with the subject) up to 15 images
Image size: min. 3000px on the long side, sRGB


The designation of the laureate is carried out in two stages:

First phase — The Pre-jury composed of photography, press and art world experts, has for mission to choose between 12 and 15 files among those received.

Second phase — The Jury composed of personalities specialized in the theme and contemporary image, aims to select a winning project.

After the selection, the jury will meet the winning photographer in order to speak to them and to provide, if necessary, the support they will require throughout their project – from the preparation stage of the report, to its final exhibition.

Entry deadline: 7th October 2018

In 2009, Fondation Carmignac established the Carmignac Photojournalism Award. Directed by Emeric Glayse, with the aim of funding annually the production of an investigative photo reportage on human rights violations in the world.

Open to all photographers, worldwide and online submission of digital photographs via the website


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.