IAFOR Documentary Photography Award – Concurs international de fotografie documentara

The IAFOR Documentary Photography Award is now inviting submissions on the theme: “History, Story, Narrative”. Historians are far from the only interested party in writing history. In a sense it is an interest we all share – whether we are talking politics, region, family birthright, or even personal experience. We are spectators to the process of history while being intimately situated within its impact and formations.

fotograf Yuyang Liu poza iafor 2016
© Yuyang Liu – IAFOR 2016

Image by Yuyang Liu

We hope that the broad nature of this theme will encourage photographers to submit work from a variety of perspectives.
The IAFOR Documentary Photography Award was launched by The International Academic Forum (IAFOR) in 2015 as an international photography award that seeks to promote and assist in the professional development of emerging documentary photographers and photojournalists.

Applicants must be less than 31 years of age on June 1, 2017 OR enrolled in part-time or full-time education on June 1, 2017 (proof may be required).

Alexey Furman winner iafor documentary photography award 2016
© Alexey Furman

Alexey Furman


o Grand Prize – £1,000 GBP cash award
o Second Place
•Tuition fee waiver for a MediaStorm Multimedia One-Day Workshop and free access to MediaStorm’s Online Training Videos
•Think Tank Photo Trifecta 10 DSLR Backpack
o Third Place
•Tuition fee waiver for a MediaStorm Multimedia One-Day Workshop and free access to MediaStorm’s Online Training Videos
•Think Tank Photo Suburban Disguise 20 shoulder bag

Entry deadline: 1st June 2017
The results of this year’s award will be announced at The European Conference on Media, Communication & Film (EuroMedia), which will be held at The Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront from Tuesday, July 11 to Wednesday, July 12, 2017.

Image requirements: jpg / jpeg format (medium to high quality); 300 dpi; 3000 pixels on the longest edge; no more than 10mb per image; Adobe RGB or sRGB is recommended for colour images. Gamma 2.2 is recommended for black and white. No CMYK. The content of an image must not be altered or retouched beyond the accepted standards allowed by the industry. No borders, personal logos, embedded watermarks or other effects (such as HDR or selective colouring).

Each applicant may submit 10 to 20 images related to the award theme, either in the form of a photo-essay or as a collection of single images.
Online submission of digital photographs via the website: http://iaforphotoaward.org/2017-award-theme/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.